Flying Objects

Standard

Last weekend we went in search of wildflowers at Gold Lake Lodge in the Sierra Nevada Mountains.  I thought there wouldn’t be many left but I was pleasantly surprised.

 

P1160589

Hydaspe Fritillary

I had just been lucky enough to get a good photo of a Fritillary butterfly when another orange flying object caught my eye.  It didn’t look at all friendly and I didn’t want to get too close to it as a few of my former close encounters have not proved to be kind to me.

P1160605

Could it be a Cow Killer?

I took my photos to the ranger station and was sure they would know what it was.  They had no idea, nor did the owners of Gold Lake Lodge.  I bought a field guide to the Sierra Nevada and have spent a lot of time on the internet trying to figure out what this beast is.

 

 

P1160604

Perhaps in the Bee Family as it was Rather Hairy

I can tell you more about what it is not than what it is.  Can anyone help?  If you have the answer, please let me know.

 

Leave a Reply

