Hitchhikers

Standard

While we were in Maine, we happened upon an area that sparked our interest.  We needed a place to walk after several days of being on vacation.  We stopped at The Rachael Carson Wildlife Refuge outside of Kennebunkport.  It was a beautiful walk and it was easy to see the effects the tides have on the area as the walk is elevated.

P1150942

The Tidal Effects

It reminded me, at times, of being back in my childhood home of Santa Cruz, California.  It was quite wooded and there were the occasional hitchhiker’s.  In this one area, by the Pink Lady Slippers, was were the hitchhiker’s landed on my hat and took a ride into town.  I thought I was feeling raindrops, as it was a bit drizzly, but once we got back to Kennebunkport a gentleman in the store started commenting on the inchworm travelers that had attached themselves to my hat.  He thought I might be upset that they were there.  I like inchworm’s, and I had been watching them on a sign while we were taking our walk, so it didn’t trouble me at all.  Well, it did a bit because I wanted to make sure that they were happy in their new plant homes.  

P1150955

Wild Pink Lady Slippers

I think they probably liked hanging from the trees much better than the plants we found for them.  We didn’t have time to drive them back to the Wildlife Refuge.  Now that I’ve returned home, I can only hope that they are living lovely lives in Kennebunkport, Maine.

Leave a Reply

