Storm Set colors

Standard

I recently drove from Southern California to Northern California through some road conditions that were less then wonderful.  As I was driving there was an amazing sunset but I didn’t want to stop to take a photo because of the road conditions.  I wrote the following poem to help my mind remember the colors that I saw.  I hope you can visualize them too.

Storm Clouds

Storm Clouds

Storm Set Colors

This sunset that surrounds me
I haven’t a photo for
I’m driving North through cold slushy rain
But it’s colors, I adore

Bright bubble gum pink and glaucous gray clouds
Form a nimbus line to the East of me
Atomic tangerine with black cumulus legs
Hang eerily as far as I can see

Ochre grays and rusty coppers
Linger throughout the clouds
They push their way around me
Then they drop, rain pounds, out loud

A tiny patch of light blue sky
Glows off in the distant West
Illumnated rolling green pistachio hills
Front snow sprinkled mountain caps

I push on through the misting,
Through the downpours, and endless showers
Remembering the colors
The soft, bright, and wickedly gloomy,
Colors

2/2016  Bonnie L DiMichele

Leave a Reply

