Kissing Camels

Standard

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Kissing Camels

It has been raining in California.  I am not complaining, I like the lakes catching water.  It does make it difficult to take photographs to share on my blog.  I started thinking about places I had been on clear days and this trip in 2005 came to mind.  I went for a walk in The Garden of The Gods in Colorado Springs.  It was a clear, crisp, morning and we had a little time to kill.  

First Glimpse of The Garden of The Gods

First Glimpse of The Garden of The Gods

It was the second time that I had been somepace where there were red rocks.  The first was in Sedona Arizona and the rocks were covered with snow.  I didn’t have my camera with me and I regret not having those images.  I keep them safely tucked away in my mind, unfortunately I can’t share visual memories with other people unless I have photographed them.  It was beautiful!

Storm on the Horizon

Storm on the Horizon

Towards the end of that day, we watched a storm grow out over the horizon.  I had never seen anything like it in California.  It was spectacular.  It caused me to think about my family and how very fortunate I am to have them in my life.  I wrote each of them a little Thank You and sent it, snail mail, to them.  The final thought on the thank you was this; “Growing gracefully is a gift one gives one’s self and bestows on those who live around them.”  Even though they were still young, I could see that they were growing in a manner that would be pleasing to themselves and those who came in contact with them.  I am grateful for my family.  They are the loveliest people to know.  And yes, I am grateful for the rain and the time it yields me to reflect. 

Leave a Reply

