Stepping Outside

Standard

I’ve been noticing lately that there is a stillness about this season that I haven’t noticed before.  It’s very hard to capture that feeling in a photo.

Fall Stillness

Fall Stillness

There’s been no swirling winds that knock the leaves off the branches.  It’s just been incredibly still.  I’m a little worried that we won’t get rain again this winter.

Turning Leaves in Bidwell Park

Turning Leaves in Bidwell Park

I went to Bidwell Park in Chico, California when I was visiting the other day, with the hope that the leaves would be colorful and falling from the trees.  The leaves were just starting to turn and there were so many acorns that it seemed as if they were raining from the sky.  The chatter in the trees was amazing to listen to as the acorns fell from above. 

Illusive Butterfly

Illusive Butterfly

Little did I realize that all I needed to do was step outside into my own backyard to find a sight that I don’t usually see.  We often have Swallowtail butterflies in the yard but seldom do you see a Monarch.

Resting in the Magnolia

Resting in the Magnolia

So when I saw this, I grabbed my camera and waited……and chased……..and waited……and chased……and waited.  This was a very shy butterfly.

Drinking from the Dahlia

Drinking from the Dahlia

My patience paid off and I can return to the calm that continues to surround this season.

Leave a Reply

