Showy Snowy Blossoms

Standard

As you can see, there have been no storm clouds near my town in California this past week.  The trees are in full bloom in most places.  We stopped for a shot of the orchards last week, as they look like snow has fallen beneath the trees.

Fallen Blossoms Near Dixon

Fallen Blossoms Near Dixon

We went to the Almond Festival last weekend in the Capay Valley.  It was a very windy day and the scent of honey filled the air when I paused to take some photos, which spawned this Haiku…..

Honey Scented Almond Blossom

Honey Scented Almond Blossom

Honey scent lingers

Raging wind sweeps petals up

Blue sky, rain shy day

Capay Valley Windy Day

Capay Valley Windy Day

Right before we were moving on up the valley out of Rumsey, I spotted this oak that reminded me of the one my friend and I used to ride in Soquel.  We’d hop on a low limb and pretend that we were riding horses.    

Old Oak in Rumsey

Old Oak in Rumsey

There are days that I miss being a kid.

2 thoughts on “Showy Snowy Blossoms

  1. Robin McCartney

    Bonnie, there are days that I miss being a kid too!!! I love the pics you post and your words that go with them. You are truly talented!!!
    Love, Robbi

Leave a Reply

