For the Young at Heart

Standard

As Valentine’s Day approaches, I’ve been thinking about my father and how he never seemed too enthusiastic about that holiday.  Really, he wasn’t terribly enthusiastic about any holiday.  You never would have found him making seaweed hearts in the sand.  (I would have loved to have seen that.)

Seaweed Heart

Seaweed Heart

We’ve been looking at a single story house this week and I’ve been going through some of the stuff that we have acquired with the thought that we have too much junk to move.  Now is the time to unload it.  In doing so, I’ve come across the tetherball that my father had kept for so many years.  He liked playing tetherball on the old pipe pole that he had made by putting cement in an old tire.  It was one of those things that he couldn’t part with.  I wonder what memories, seeing the flat ball, brought back.  He certainly never talked about it.  The ball is now in my garage, and what should I do with it?  His memories were his and my memories of playing the game with him are still quite vivid in my mind.  I’ll have to give this some real thought. 

Heart of the Anemone at the San Francisco Farmers Market

Heart of the Anemone at the San Francisco Farmers Market

While my mind is sorting through this dilemma, I thought I’d share this flower that I found in the SF farmers market last weekend.  It had been raining the day prior, but the morning was clear and we had brunch down by the pier.  It was a lovely morning with all the sights and sounds of the city.  Do go out and have an extra special Valentine’s Day this year.  Do something fun and memorable!

 

2 thoughts on “For the Young at Heart

Leave a Reply

