Navigating Peace and Forgiveness

Standard

Last evening I went to a group grief session.  I’ve never done anything like this before but I thought it might be helpful going into the holiday season.  We were asked why we were attending and I was the only one that answered with the thought that I was searching for peace and forgiveness.  As I was listening, I found it interesting that I was the only one looking for these things.  It made me think.  I have been searching for peace my entire life and finding it around every turn.  I can find peace in the simplest of things, for instance, Stanton Lanier creates songs and plays the piano in the most soothing of ways.  It’s quite peaceful.  Taking my grandchild for a walk and stopping to watch the Cormorant fishing in the pond, watching the birds fly as we approach them, greeting the doggies along our path, are things that bring both of us delight and a calming peacefulness.  Everyday we are greeted with a sunrise and left with the beauty of a sunset.  This sunset made me think of my mother last weekend while we were stuck in traffic along I-80 near Dixon.  What a lovely way to be stuck in traffic.  Mom always liked a good sunset.

Peaceful Sunset

Peaceful Sunset

I think that I have the peaceful part of what I am searching for realized because, it surrounds me everyday and everywhere I go, all I need to do is look for it and be aware of it when I see it.  Searching to find forgiveness is the tricky part.  I don’t often need to find forgiveness but I realize that it is an important part of finding peace and joy in my life.  It is interesting that those people who I feel I need to forgive seldom even notice that something is askew in the relationship.  I have come to find that there are times when I simply need to accept them for who and what they are.  I can not expect them to be anything other than who they are.  I forgive them for being themselves and just figure that it is all they have to give.  I know these things but implementing this idea proves to be a struggle for me.  I need to find a solution so I can move on with the peaceful part of my life.  See, peace and forgiveness are intertwined for me.  I must remember to immerse myself in those moments of discovery and beauty.  It is there that I can bathe in the glorious act of acceptance and forgiving.  

I hope all your sunsets this week are exquisite. 

2 thoughts on “Navigating Peace and Forgiveness

  1. Suzanne

    Great post Bonnie, below are some of my thoughts about forgiveness and peace.

    In forgiveness, I find letting go of my judgmental thoughts and expectations of others leads me to realize often I am the one who needs to ask to be forgiven. There are times I have asked to be forgiven and have not received it. At these times it is only in my relationship with Jesus Christ I find His peace and forgiveness. Sunsets and sunrises are a perfect time to reflect on peace in our lives and look at our life as a gift. That gift can be shared in generous giving, in our relationships, in our time and our material stuff too.

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts Suzanne. I love you for your steadfastness; that is what I most admired in my mother too. I feel like you’ve always got my back. Love you!

Leave a Reply

