Tranquility Lane

Image

I’ve had company this past week and haven’t had much time to think about what I would write in this blog.  However, with that being said, there is something that came to mind while traveling back from the airport today, and I will share it with you because it deals with end of life issues that we all eventually face.  We are going to a memorial later this week and we have had friends that have chosen to not allow people to honor them with a service upon their passing.  I understand why people think this is best for their loved ones, but it is very hard on those left behind to deal quietly with their angst over their friends passing.  We had some friends, Del and Lee, who wanted just such a quiet passing a few years ago.  We did finally honor them with a very small dinner party one evening in our backyard.  We had a short time during dinner when we shared our remembrances of them.  My memories are many but the one that stands out most in my mind was the night they had us over to their place, a top the hills of their city.  It was out on their deck that I began to compose the following poem.  This is why the evening stays so implanted in my mind.  I wrote the poem to have a lasting memory.  I didn’t need to take a picture because the words meant so much to me.  The house that they had built, was on Tranquility Lane.

#1 Tranquility Lane

Last night I sat upon a rock

At the crest of your fine hill

The beauty that surrounded me

Seemed to make my world stand still

Those hazy clouds were painted

Dapple gray and pink

The old oak tree’s long branches

Made me turn again and think

Of days spent on a different hill

Riding horses in the arms

Of another tall fine oak tree

With many illusive charms

I wonder now and hope

That oak tree stands there still

And the view is just as wonderful

From that other distant hill

I may not ever go

To that place now in my dreams

But this place, I’ll return to

Many times it seems

For there is no better place on earth

That I could ever gain

Old memories from new visions

Than number one Tranquility Lane

Here’s an artist’s concept of the view from that hill.  It sits in our dining room and reminds us of our old friends.  They are gone but are never forgotten.  They gave this to us, so you see, they did want us to remember.

View from Tranquility Lane

 

 

One thought on “Tranquility Lane

Leave a Reply

