Parent’s favorite flower.

Standard

I want to thank you for reading my first blog last week.  I still don’t completely understand how you saw it, but I’m happy that you did.  I had one reply on my blog site and some by email.  In my book, “in Grandma’s Shoes” I said that my word to describe my childhood was bittersweet.

I’ve come to realize that we often don’t take in the most subtle of information about those we spend the most time with. My mother, has dementia and can not remember what her favorite flower is. This is not something that bothers her.  It bothers me that I did not know what her favorite flower was.  I should have known the answer to this so I could help her be familiar with something she would have known about herself.  With that thought in mind, I should not be down on myself for those things that I can not change.  It is important to me that I spend my time knowing and understanding those people in my family that I am close to.  I can only achieve this through communication and actively seeking out information from them.  I have come to realize that time is a precious commodity.  We often don’t know how much time we actually have.  So with that thought in mind, I plan on asking a personal question of each one of my family members this week.  I think I will start the conversation with something like this….Do you know what my favorite flower is?  I’ll reveal my results in the next blog.  Oh, my favorite flower is the daffodil.  The fields on High St. in Santa Cruz were filled with them each spring.  I vividly remember how they looked and smelled.  There are houses there today.  I’m so thankful that I can still visualize that scene in my mind.  I wrote a poem a few years ago about those daffodils entitled Daffodil Spring.

2 thoughts on “Parent’s favorite flower.

  1. Jan

    interesting question! My Mother’s favourite flower is Iris, especially a blue or purple one. I doubt my children could say what my favourite is (peonies) followed closely by hydrangeas. In their defense my Mother and I spent much more time gardening together during my childhood and as adults than I have spent with my children.

  2. You know Jan, it’s funny how the generations rather cycle with everyother one, kind of swinging in and out of what their passions were. That’s how its worked in my family anyway.

Leave a Reply

